The Chess Garden



In The Fall Of 1900, Dr Gustav Uyterhoeven Left The Chess Garden That He And His Wife, Sonja, Had Created Together In Dayton, Ohio, And Journeyed To South Africa To Serve As A Doctor In The British Concentration Camps Of The Boer War Over The Next Ten Months He Sent Twelve Chess Pieces And Twelve Letters Back To Sonja She Set Out Her Husband S Gifts As They Arrived And Welcomed All The Most Faithful Guests Of The Garden To Come And Hear What He Had Written Letters Which Told Nothing Of His Experience Of The Camps But Described An Imagined Land Called The Antipodes, Where All The Game Pieces That Cluttered The Sets And Drawers Of The Garden Collection Came To Life To Guide The Doctor Through His Fateful And Wondrous Last Adventure Brooks Hansen Offers A Tale Of Spiritual Progress Disguised In The Most Exotic Visions Of The Imagination And Yet The Chess Garden Encompasses A Very Real World, Too Alongside The Doctor S Visions Of The Antipodes, The Story Of His Life Gradually Unfolds As Well History And Allegory Are Expertly Woven Until Finally Both Lead Back To The Chess Garden Itself, A Place Where Ideas Give Way To Vision, Reason Meets Faith, And Fact And Figment Are Finally Reconciled.The Chess Garden

Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the The Chess Garden book, this is one of the most wanted Brooks Hansen author readers around the world.

!!> EPUB ❁ The Chess Garden  ✼ Author Brooks Hansen – E17streets4all.co.uk
  • Paperback
  • 480 pages
  • The Chess Garden
  • Brooks Hansen
  • English
  • 02 January 2019
  • 1573225630

10 thoughts on “The Chess Garden

  1. says:

    In Ohio at the turn of this century, the wife of Dr Uyterhoeven receives a series of strange letters from her husband, who reports being shipwrecked on his way to South Africa, and landing in a fantastical country inhabited by chess pieces, dominoes and dice.Intercut with these letters, the story of his life unfolds his youth and marriage in Holland, his...

  2. says:

    Second reading It is a novel, as all good novels must in part be, of subtle and beautiful patterning There are two storylines One is told in a series of twelve letters the good doctor Gustav Uyterhoeven s sends home during the year 1900 from a British run refugee camp for displaced Boer women and children in South Africa These letters, written for the children back home in Dayton Ohio, are fantasies about the doctor s travels in a magical land of games called The Antipodes A second storylin Second reading It is a novel, as all good novels must in part be, of subtle and beautiful patterning There are two storylines One is told in a series of twelve letters the good doctor Gustav Uyterhoeven s sends home during the year 1900 from a B...

  3. says:

    4 STARS AND NO REVIEW good grief, mark, get with the program you loved this book and you want other people to read this book too you want them to share your excitement, right well, write a review share that enthusiasm, you can do it mark

  4. says:

    This book is why I read.

  5. says:

    This book reminded me of Th Wizard of Oz books, as well as Wicked by Gregory MaGuire It is a fascinating study of how a sensitive physician copes with the horrors he experiences in wartime, by use of his love of chess In the fall of 1900, Dr Gustav Uyterhoeven left the chess garden that he and his wife, Sonja, ...

  6. says:

    I was immediately drawn to this book by the title, the illustration, and the summary Unfortunately as I read In the tradition of J.R.R Tolkien and C.S Lewis, Brooks Hansen offers a tale of spiritual progress disguised in the most exotic visions of the imagination , I had automatically set ridiculously high hopes for this book The book is divided into the parts that switch between Dr Uyterhoeven s letters which are amazing, and the other parts which arescience filled and less fantasy I was immediately drawn to this book by the title, the illustration, and the summary Unfortunately as I read In the tradition of J.R.R Tolkien and C.S Lewis, Brooks Hansen offers a tale of spiritual progress disguised in the most exotic visions of the imagination , I had automatically set ridiculously high hopes for this book The book is divided into the parts that switch between Dr Uyterhoeven s letters which are amazing, and the other parts which arescience ...

  7. says:

    I wanted to like this book Philosophy meets historical fact meets fantasy That is usually just my style but The Chess Garden fell flat Those three aspects didn t come together into a unified whole and simply dropped you off of a cliff without any transition The flow was poor to non existent and characters and story were distant and non engaging There were interesting thoughts and ideas, but they were buried under unnecessary tedium that could have been presented in a much fresher and integ I wanted to like this book Philosophy meets historical fact meets fantasy That is usually just my style but The Chess Garden fell flat Those three aspects didn t come together into a unified whole and simply dropped you off of a cliff without any transition The flow was poor to non exis...

  8. says:

    I had never heard of this book before my stepdaughter mailed it to her sister along with several other books she d read I am so glad I was introduced to the Chess Garden it was wonderful I m not going to get into any spoiler details here, but let me say that I am blown away by Brooks Hansen s mind The creativity that went into this novel is just amazing it is, after all, a tale heavy on fantasy But it also qualifies as historical fiction, as a good per...

  9. says:

    The Chess Garden by Brooks Hansen showed up for quite awhile in my recommendations atEvery time I read the description, I grewandinterested, finally obtaining this trade paperback edition from a trading sit The hardcover edition of the book was subtitled The Twilight Letter of Gustav Uyterhoeven Here is a quick description to help me from .Com and Publishers Weeklyset in 19th century Dayton, Ohio, in Europe and South Africa during the Boer War and on an im The Chess Garden by Brooks Hansen showed up for quite awhile in my recommendations atEvery time I read the description, I grewandinterested, finally obtaining this trade paperback edition from a trading sit The hardcover edition of the book was subtitled The Twilight Letter of Gustav Uyterhoeven Here is a quick description to help me from .Com and Publishers Weeklyset in 19th century Dayton, Ohio, in Europe and South Africa du...

  10. says:

    Don t put this book down You won t see it at first, but It is truely a beautiful novel layered with characters, meaning, expertise and perspectives I SAW THE MAGIFICIENCE OF THE BOOK WHEN I REALIZED 1 the author has amazing command of the story and unveils it at his pace It may not be the time for you to get it.2 Moments, insights and parallels are subtle they wont bang you over the head but suddenly you ll see something in a new way or on another level.3 The last 19 pages put it all i Don t put this book down You won t see it at first, but It is truely a beautiful novel layered with characters, meaning, expertise and perspectives I SAW THE MAGIFICIENCE OF THE BOOK WHEN I REALIZED 1 the author has amazing command of the story and unveils it at his pace It may not be the time for you to get it.2 Moments, insights and parallels are subtle they wont bang you over the head but suddenly you ll see something in a new way or on another level.3 The last 19 pages put it all in perspective Just when you think you not figured it out, you realize it is not a clear thing I would describe the book as layers of stories and plots that express a mans lif...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *