The Wolf and the Watchman



In this breathtakingly bold, intricately constructed novel set in 18th century Stockholm, a dying man searches among the city s teeming streets, dark corners, and intriguing inhabitants to unmask a ruthless murderer perfect for fans of Perfume and The Alienist.It is 1793 Four years after the storming of the Bastille in France and than a year after the death of King Gustav III of Sweden, paranoia and whispered conspiracies are Stockholm s daily bread A promise of violence crackles in the air as ordinary citizens feel increasingly vulnerable to the whims of those in power.When Mickel Cardell, a crippled ex solider and former night watchman, finds a mutilated body floating in the city s malodorous lake, he feels compelled to give the unidentifiable man a proper burial For Cecil Winge, a brilliant lawyer turned consulting detective to the Stockholm police, a body with no arms, legs, or eyes is a formidable puzzle and one last chance to set things right before he loses his battle to consumption Together, Winge and Cardell scour Stockholm to discover the body s identity, encountering the sordid underbelly of the city s elite Meanwhile, Kristofer Blix the handsome son of a farmer leaves rural life for the alluring charms of the capital and ambitions of becoming a doctor His letters to his sister chronicle his wild good times and terrible misfortunes, which lead him down a treacherous path.In another corner of the city, a young woman Anna Stina is consigned to the workhouse after she upsets her parish priest Her unlikely escape plan takes on new urgency when a sadistic guard marks her as his next victim.Over the course of the novel, these extraordinary characters cross paths and collide in shocking and unforgettable ways Niklas Natt och Dag paints a deliciously dark portrait of late 18th century Stockholm, and the frightful yet fascinating reality lurking behind the powdered and painted veneer of the era. Download The Wolf and the Watchman By Niklas Natt och Dag – e17streets4all.co.ukThe Wolf and the Watchman

Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the The Wolf and the Watchman book, this is one of the most wanted Niklas Natt och Dag author readers around the world.

Read The Wolf and the Watchman  – e17streets4all.co.uk
  • Hardcover
  • 384 pages
  • The Wolf and the Watchman
  • Niklas Natt och Dag
  • English
  • 18 September 2018
  • 1501196774

10 thoughts on “The Wolf and the Watchman

  1. says:

    The Wolf and the Watchman is a 2019 Atria Books publication.Morose and grisly but morbidly fascinating Late 1700s Stockholm A mutilated corpse is found in the lake and by mutilated, I mean limbs, tongue, and eyes had been methodically removed, one at a time, the work mimicking that of a surgeon Cecil Winge, a lawyer, suffering through the last stages of consumption has been asked to look into the matter, which is the only thing that keeps him on his feet, fighting to stay alive long enough The Wolf and the Watchman is a 2019 Atria Books publication.Morose and grisly but morbidly fascinating Late 1700s Stockholm A mutilated corpse is found in the lake and by mutilated, I mean limbs, tongue, and eyes had been methodically removed, one at a time, the work mimicking that of a surgeon Cecil Winge, a lawyer, suffering through the last stages of consumption has been asked to look into the matter, which is the only thing that keeps him on his feet, fighting to stay alive long enough to solve the mystery Winge teams up with Mickel Cardell, a disabled former soldier, who discovered, then fished the body out of the water Together they work to officially identify the body and discover who murdered the man in such a gruesome manner This novel has generated a bit of publicity, and as such, has already garnered a bit of a reput...

  2. says:

    This is an award winning Swedish historical horror fiction set in 1793, a period overshadowed by the recent events that resulted in the French Revolution sparking paranoia amongst Royal Houses throughout Europe, including King Gustav who unleashed a horde of spies to report on any who voice thoughts of overthrowing him Gustav was assassinated, and Stockholm s people live in penury, struggling to survive in the stinking dark, dirty and cold streets riddled with cruelty, death, disease, enslaveme This is an award winning Swedish historical horror fiction set in 1793, a period overshadowed by the recent events that resulted in the French Revolu...

  3. says:

    It s 1793, and a mutilated body has been found floating in the city s lake Mickel Cardell, an ex watchman and crippled ex soldier feels compelled to give the man a proper burial Cecil Winge, an attorney and consultant for the Stockholm police, makes this case the last thing he will do as he is dying from consumption He wants to solve the puzzle of the identity of the man who had no arms, no legs, no teeth, eyes or tongue Who was he Why was he tortured in such a manner Who could have done t It s 1793, and a mutilated body has been found floating in the city s lake Mickel Cardell, an ex watchman and crippled ex soldier feels compelled to give the man a proper burial Cecil Winge, an attorney and consultant for the Stockholm police, makes this case the last thing he will do as he is dying from consumption He wants to solve the puzzle of the identity of the man who had no arms, no legs, no teeth, eyes or tongue Who was he Why was he tortured in such a manner Who could have done this to him The two men, Cardell and Winge, go on a mission to solve this case before time for one, or perhaps both, run out.Kristofer Blix is the son of a doctor He writes letters t...

  4. says:

    A great calamity has befallen us A thousand rumors abound, and onepreposterous than the next It is impossible to obtain any trustworthy information, for even travelers have differing accounts and all seem to me somewhat poetical in what they relate The atrocity of the crime, as it has been related, is too great, such that I do not know how I should think thereof Carl Gustaf Af Leopold 1793The night watchman, Mickel Cardell, has seen enough death to last several lifetimes He has...

  5. says:

    CorrosivenessA dark and gruesome Gothic thriller, which reveals a formidable and disturbing portrait of Stockholm during the tumultuous period of the late 18 century The Wolf and the Watchman is at times horrifying, often captivating and always brilliantly written I love the title and from that alone, there is a sense of anticipation and danger Often the most corrupt are those tasked with upholding the law.The characters are brilliantly developed where the personalities and demeanour of each CorrosivenessA dark and gruesome Gothic thriller, which reveals a formidable and disturbing portrait of Stockholm during the tumultuous period of the late 18 century The Wolf and the Watchman is at times horrifying, often captivating and always brilliantly written I love the title and from that alone, there is a sense of anticipation and danger Often the most corrupt are those tasked with upholding the law.The characters are brilliantly developed where the personalities and demeanour of each character have such wonderful depth and variation Each character faces hardships, struggles with their place in this unforgiving society, and battles personal demons and impediments This ensures the novel is a fantastic depiction of life during this fear...

  6. says:

    Tell me, Mr Winge, does the expression homo homini lupus est mean anything to you Plautus wrote it during the Punic Wars Like a wolf is man to other men What kind of wolf are you, Mr Winge A good wolf A skilled hunter No wolf at all, I m afraid What I do, I do not undertake in order to satisfy my bloodlust Now I have helped you pick up the scent, all you have to do is follow it out into the forest and find your mark I see how your expression is changed You can t fool me You Tell me, Mr Winge, does the expression homo homini lupus est mean anything to you Plautus wr...

  7. says:

    So glad I stepped a bit out of my reading comfort zone to give this one a try I don t normally read very many books set in the 1700s but the premise for this one sounded intriguing Turned out to be a really good read Mickel Cardell, a former soldier, is living in Stockholm when he finds a mutilated body Together with Cecil Winge, a consulting detective for the police, they set out to determine the identity of the deceased and the circumstances behind his death The story also travels back in So glad I stepped a bit out of my reading comfort zone to give this one a try I don t normally read very many books set in the 1700s but the premise for this one sounded intriguing Turned out to be a really good read Mickel Cardell, a former soldier, is living in Stockholm when he finds a mutilated body Together with Cecil Winge, a consulting detective for t...

  8. says:

    4.5 starsIn chaos theory, there is something called the butterfly effect The idea is that one small action can greatly affect the outcome of a later, seemingly unrelated event This novel is full of little moments that show how one person s decision can permanently alter the lives of others The year is 1793 Stockholm is a city on edge Rebellion by lower classes in countries such as France have made the Swedish elite a tad nervous, especially after the murder of King Gustav III This is 4.5 starsIn chaos theory, there is something called the butterfly effect The idea is that one small action can greatly affect the outcome of a later, seemingly unrelated event This novel is full of little moments that show how one person s decision can permanently alter the lives of others The year is 1793 Stockholm is a city on edge Rebellion by lower classes in countries such as France have made the Swedish elite a tad nervous, especially a...

  9. says:

    DEEP and DARK in 18th century Stockholm First up we have Jean Michael Cardell, a disabled veteran with a passion for strong drink and bar brawls.a former night watchman with haunted memories of war. Then Cecil Winge enters the picture, lawyer turned consulting detective for Stockholm police, a notably skilled young man living on borrowed time.and together these two troubled men search the DARK and dangerous streets for a ruthless monster who tortures and maims before he kills. Kristofer DEEP and DARK in 18th century Stockholm First up we have Jean Michael Cardell, a disabled vet...

  10. says:

    4 Stars.Complex, Dark, Ominous and Intriguing.It s 1793 in Stockholm, the body of a mutilated man is found floating in Lake Larder by Mickel Cardell, an amputee and former soldier of war and an ex watchman Both of the man s eyes are missing and all of his limbs have been sawed off, one by one Needing help with the investigation, Cardell gets attorney Cecil Winge involved, even though he is dying of consumption Both desperately want to identify the man and discover the reasons for his macabr 4 Stars.Complex, Dark, Ominous and Intriguing.It s 1793 in Stockholm, the body of a mutilated man is found floating in Lake Larder by Mickel Cardell, an amputee and former soldier of war and an ex watchman Both of the man s eyes are missing and all of his limbs have been sawed off, one by one Needing help with the investigation, Cardell gets attorney Cecil Winge involved, even though he is dying of consumption Both desperately want to identify the man and discover the reasons for his macabre death Easier said than done when he has no fingerprints and has no identification on his persons.What is evident is that the murderer of the unidentified man wanted him to suffer in the most dreadful and violent of ways and suffer he did The details of this man s death are gruesome, painstaking and quite graphic I...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *